How to Manage Deleted Users: locating them, removing security references to them, and recovering their content

Turnover in an organization, while unfortunate, is common in business today. From a BI perspective, the impact from this turnover can lead to clutter and a loss of content in the Content Store. Fortunately, MetaManager™ comes with tools to help: find deleted users in the Content Store, remove references to those users in group and role memberships, and recover any content they may still own. This article will focus on using MetaManager™ to help clean up the Content Store as a result of users being deleted.

To start, the deleted users will need to be identified. It is recommended to do this search in the Security Editor module. Select the down arrow next to the search bar. Navigate to Security > Deleted Accounts.

This will return a list of all deleted account in the Content Store and display them in the portal tree.

Right-clicking any of the deleted users gives an option to “Find group and role memberships” for that user. Select this option to identify if the user is still a member of any group or role. In this example, this user still has memberships in the environment.

This user can be removed from these groups by using Security Editor. Dragging-and-dropping the groups from the portal tree to the canvas area in the center.

 

 

 

 

This user can be removed from these groups by using Security Editor. Dragging-and-dropping the groups from the portal tree to the canvas area in the center.

Now that the memberships have been cleaned up, the next step will be to recover any content that may have been lost. This can be done using the Orphaned Accounts module which is located under the Free Stuff section. To begin, click the “Load Orphaned Accounts” link to load all deleted accounts in the environment. Once the accounts have been loaded, the accounts and the content that they still own will be displayed.

Selecting an individual account will filter the content to only show what that user owns.

This content can now be moved to a different location by selecting a destination in Public Folders and then clicking the “Move Content” button. By default, a new folder labeled “Recovered Content” will be created, however, any destination can be selected. Once the content has been moved it can have it ownership reassigned to user that is active, or, deleted if it is no longer needed.